top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Is wine gluten free?

I have been seeing a nutritionist since late 2015 and recently she gave me a challenge: for one month avoid gluten and white starches. Her plan was to see if any of my food-related issues were being caused by gluten because I had mentioned that my prederred beer selection - wheat beers - sometimes resulted in me getting sick after one pint.

Giving up beer wasn't going to be a challenge and I told her this. She then let me know there can be gluten in wine... this sent my world crashing down.

So is there gluten in wine? Yes. BUT! Before you give up on happiness, there's good news: the amounts are so small that unless you have a severe allergy like celiac disease, you probably won't get sick.

Wine makers often soak and seal the barrels in wheat paste or flour to assist with the aging process of wines. But the results are small - 20 part per billion - and means that the wine is legally considered gluten-free.

I haven't had any reactions like I have with beer, but if you have a severe allergy and love wine, I recommend staying true to brands you love and don't result in reactions.

bottom of page